Covenants and Christmas Breaks

During this Christmas break I have taken it upon myself to read more about Covenant Theology. I am halfway through the book, The Christ of the Covenants, by O. Palmer Robertson and I like it so far. It’s very informative. This book has been good for me while reflecting on the Christmas season and the end of the year. Recently I read this great bit, “God binds himself now to redeem a people to himself. The very words that pronounce the curse of the covenant of creation also inaugurate the covenant of redemption.”

Getting the chance to learn more about Covenant Theology has been bringing me a new joy about the Gospel. I’m realizing more and more that ever since the fall of Man in Genesis we see God being committed to redeem mankind and that throughout the Old Testament we see the concept of God dwelling with his people which culminates in Christ, our Emmanuel, the One who would be our mediator so we could dwell with God.

I know this idea is not new but this season it really resonated with me. I mean that I’ve mediated more and more on how much grace I’ve recieved and the glory of God through redemptive history.

– Anthony

P.S. If anyone has any other good books to read about covenant theology, I am all ears. I hope every one had a blessed Christmas and a great New Year! Happy 2013!

Leave a Reply

